Sept 2017 Travel ban


On September 24, 2017, U.S. President Donald Trump issued a new set of visa and travel restrictions for certain foreigners coming into the United States. These new restrictions replace the “travel ban” President Trump issued on March 6, 2017, which expired the same day these new restrictions were announced.

The new restrictions target individuals from Iran, Syria, Yemen, North Korea, Venezuela, Chad, Libya, and Somalia. The restrictions begin immediately for some individuals, but apply for others starting on October 18, 2017.

Visas issued before October 18 will still be honored and will not be revoked. However, after October 18, no new U.S. visas will be issued to any Iranians and no Iranian can enter the United States, with the exception of green card holders or individuals who have an F or M student visa or a J exchange visa.

Even though there is a full Iranian ban in place, there are other potential exceptions to these new rules. Any affected potential immigrant, investor, or traveler should consult with a skilled immigration attorney to discuss his or her options.